

Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur announces

## YRGS 2013

The 5th Asia and Pacific Young Researchers and Graduates Symposium on

# CURRENT CHALLENGES IN STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING



October 15-16, 2013, Jaipur, India yrgs2013.mnit.ac.in

## **Background and Objectives**

The series of the Asia and Pacific Young Researchers and Graduates Symposium (YRGS) was initiated to promote the young professionals from academics, research, and field practice and to facilitate knowledge sharing between Asia and Pacific countries. The first YRGS was held in 2009 at Kunsan National University, Korea; second in 2010 at Zhejiang University, China; the third in 2011 at National Taiwan University, Taiwan; fourth in 2012 at Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong. YRGS has successfully accomplished the objective of making a collective contribution to the civil and structural engineering fraternity.

## **Scope of the Symposium**

The YRGS 2013 focuses on the current necessity of structures, *that is*, sustainable design, materials, and practices. The official language of the symposium is English. Papers addressing the advances in sustainable construction practices with the following scope are invited for submission:

- Computational techniques in structural engineering
- Life-cycle performance assessment and management
- Structural health monitoring and control
- Stochastic dynamics and reliability of structures
- Composite construction
- Sustainable Concrete Materials and construction practices
- Durability of concrete structures
- Nanotechnology applications in construction
- Utilization of construction wastes in concrete

## **Key dates**

Abstract submission	May 01, 2013
Abstract acceptance	May 15, 2013
Paper submission	June 30, 2013
Paper acceptance	July 31, 2013

### **Symposium Patron**

Indra Krishan Bhat Director Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur, India.

## **Symposium Chair**

Sandeep Chaudhary Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur, India.

## **Organizing Secretary**

Bhavna Tripathi Principal Investigator (DST project), Deptt. of Civil Engg. Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur, India.

Email: <a href="mailto:yrgs2013@gmail.com">yrgs2013@gmail.com</a>

Tel: 0091-141-2713273, Fax: 0091-141-2529029

## **Conference Registration**

International participants	USD 200
International students	USD 100
National participants	INR 6000
National students	INR 2000

## About Department of Civil Engineering, Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur, India

The discipline of Civil Engineering was introduced in 1965 at MNIT Jaipur. The mission of the department is to provide a superior learning environment which emphasizes close faculty-student interaction, practical education and distinctive research opportunities. The research activities cover various civil engineering aspects such as natural resource management, sustainable building materials, climate change, environmental management, structural health monitoring, expert systems etc.

### **International Advisory Committee**

A. K. Nagpal, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India

A. K. Tiwari, UltraTech Cement Limited, India

B. Bhattacharjee, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India

C. S. Upadhyay, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India

Hilmi Mahmud, University of Malaya, Malaysia

J. G. Teng, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

K. K. Shukla, Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology, India

Min-Hong Zhang, National University of Singapore, Singapore

P.A. Muhammed Basheer, Queen's University Belfast, UK

Riyadh Al-Ameri, Deakin University, Australia

S.B. Singh, Birla Institute of Technology & Science, India

S.K. Barai, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India

Steve C. S. Cai, Louisiana State University, USA

Takafumi Noguchi, University of Tokyo, Japan

Tamon Ueda, Hokkaido University, Japan

V. Ramakrishnan, South Dekota State University, USA

Wei-Liang Jin, Zhejiang University, China

Yogendra Singh, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India

### **International Steering Committee**

Chung-Che Chou, National Taiwan University, Tiwan

Chun-Wei Zhang, University of Western Sydney, Australia

Dookie Kim, Kunsan National University, Korea

Hwa-kian Chai, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Jian-Bing Chen, Tongji University, China

Jian-Guo Dai, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Kohei Nagai, University of Tokyo, Japan

Raktipong Sahamitmongkol, Thammasat University, Thailand

Sandeep Chaudhary, Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur, India

Songye Zhu, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Yew-Chin Koay, VicRoads, Australia

Yu-Xi Zhao, Zhejiang University, China

#### **International Scientific Committee**

A.K. Vyas, Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur, India Bulu Pradhan, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, India C.D. Modhera, National Institute of Technology Surat, India Cui Jintao, Tianjin Institute of Urban Construction, China Halil Sezen, The Ohio State University, USA Jameel Mohammed, University of Malaya, Malaysia J. A. Bhat, National Institute of Technology Srinagar, India Naveen Kwatra, Patiala, India P. K. Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India Prabir Sarker, Curtin University of Technology, Australia R. Nagar, Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur, India R. K. Dutta, National Institute of Technology Hamirpur, India R. K. Sharma, MPUAT, Udaipur, India R. P. Nanda, National Institute of Technology Durgapur, India Rivadh Hindi, Saint Louis University, USA S. C. Yaragal, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, India Tao Yu, University of Wollongong, Australia Tony Yang, University of British Columbia, Canada Yinfeng Dong, Chongqing University, China

## **Symposium Partners**



Asian Concrete Federation

Yoshikazu Kobayashi, Nihon University, Japan

### **Symposium Sponsors**